Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

My daughter Mae is not-quite-five (her birthday’s in a few weeks.) And one of her defining characteristics these days is that she’s a really, really good reader. I mean REALLY GOOD. She took to reading really fast and, almost completely on her own, just keeps progressing.

The coolest thing about it, from my position as an observer, is the way she uses the skill to teach herself – just all kinds of things. It’s really fascinating to watch.

Case in point: While she likes storybooks, her favorite book, hands-down, is a nature encyclopedia.ย  And she’ll sit and read this thing for a half-hour together – literally read it, sounding out the big words and occasionally asking me for a definition. And then she’ll come out and tell me what she’s learned.

And she teaches me!ย  Today for example I learned a lot about sea creatures – particularly stingrays. (She’s actually seriously getting me more interested in nature. It’s hard not to catch her enthusiasm.)

*

The sight of this little girl reading this big “grownup” science book seemed to me to make a nice juxtaposition for the photo challenge!) So here’s that.

(I couldn’t decide which of these I liked better, so am including both):

DSC02319

DSC02320

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

  1. I like the first one best. It doesn’t look posed; instead she looks engaged in the book ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think it’s great that she’s doing this and that she’s inspiring you too. If there’s one thing I wish for, when James and I are able to be together, it’s that we can share an interest and really having fun sharing those times.

    Sure, he likes Star Wars and Pixar movies like I do… but something that takes us out and about would be really cool ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I see what you mean…but a shared love of Star Wars/etc is pretty cool too! Appreciating science fiction, etc, says something about the way you approach the world and “life” and potential and all that…right? That’s a great foundation for future bonding, I think.

      This nature stuff really bonds Mae and her dad. She’s closer to me in most things – but for nature and science stuff, he’s her go-to guy. It’s sweet! It makes a nice connection for them.

      Like

    1. I love knowing that!!!

      I can’t say I ever actually read encyclopedias myself; I was all about stories (fairy tales, superheroes; all the drama, basically!) I love that my daughter finds so much to interest her in nature and what’s around her. I love watching her discover things!

      Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

