Weekly Photo Challenge: THRESHOLD

“I care that I can reach a hand out in the darkness and feel another hand.”

–Amanda Palmer (taken from a WONDERFUL blog post she published yesterday on the power of social media for connecting people.)

*

Social media – particularly blogging – has made such a difference to me in the last few years. The ability to sit down at my computer and share my thoughts – and find not only interest and receptivity coming back to me from all over the world, but also support? This has been an incredible gift.

It’s so empowering – just amazing, really – to realize that, though the person in the next room might not be capable of (or perhaps interested in) understanding you, there are people across a continent or an ocean who will and DO. There’s so much strength in that…so much wonderful solidarity. I’m so grateful to have felt that!!

*

“Threshold” is the the theme of this week’s Photo Challenge on WordPress. This is my entry:

DSC02747

My computer marks the threshold through which I reach out and into a world that has proven to be not only smaller and less intimidating than I grasped even a few years ago, but also so much wider and more expansive and just KINDER than I ever imagined.

I understand why people gripe about social media and the way it’s changed our interactions – but I think, all things considered, it’s a GOOD THING to be able to talk so freely and easily with anyone and everyone…in the WORLD. To be able to share ideas…to make connections.

I’m glad I live in this inter-connected age.

(Amanda Palmer speaks to this better than I can. Her post is so worth a read, if you get the opportunity.)

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: THRESHOLD

  1. It’s really quite amazing, when you think about the world as it was 20 years ago… I can remember first going online in November 1997… it was like a door being thrown wide open LOL If I were to compare it to the wardrobe leading to Narnia… well, I wouldn’t be far wrong LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

