Because We Need More Roses (or, shall we just say, “pretty things”?) In the World

There’s something about Spring that inspires me to get outside and take walks.

Not that I don’t like walking outside in other seasons…but the urge is amplified in the springtime. That there’s always something new to see is the lure for me, I guess: the trees start budding, and then the flowers come out, and then everything starts to leaf out. The grass turns green…the sky seems bluer…the clouds seem whiter and puffier. And there are so many colors – even shades of colors (I love how many shades of green there are in the Spring!)

I’m just a sucker for the bright and the pretty, I guess.

Take today, for instance:

Today, there were baby trees.
Today, in the brush, there were baby trees with the most delicate pinky-red leaves.
Geese (and from a safe distance...always good! I will admit to being just a tiny bit afraid of geese...)
The geese were swimming in blue water, under a bluer sky. (And I got to admire them from a safe distance…always good! I will admit to being just a tiny bit afraid of geese…)
Dandelions...and the first "wishing flower" versions we've seen yet. ("Mommy, I just wished that all the world was made of pillows!")
There were many dandelions…and there were also the first “wishing flower” versions of dandelions that we’ve seen yet. (“Mommy, I just wished that all the world was made of pillows!”)
More wishing flowers. ("Mommy, this time I wished that there were more roses in the world. We need more roses.")
And more wishing flowers. (“Mommy, this time I wished that there were more roses in the world. We need more roses.”)
My favorite view came at the very end, when I was smart enough to look UP.
My favorite view came at the very end, when I was smart enough to look UP. Blue sky…a few lingering blossoms…new leaves. So pretty.

I like Spring.

 

One thought on “Because We Need More Roses (or, shall we just say, “pretty things”?) In the World

Leave a Reply

