Summer Places: The Nicest Backyard I Know

Since my dad retired a few years ago, one of his central hobbies has become working in his backyard. He’s taken a space that was landscaped in a basic way (some mulch, some flowers, a few bushes) and has slowly transformed it into something really special.

I poked around with my camera when I was there last and tried to capture something of it.

I think my dad’s secret is that he pays a lot of attention to detail. Not in a fussy way – so it remains a great yard for his grandkids to play in.

IMG_1328(Particularly as there’s a hammock.)

IMG_1227

 

IMG_1266

But everywhere your eyes wander, there’s something aesthetically pleasing. Literally everywhere!

A pot of flowers (which he also arranges.)
A pot of flowers, say (which he also arranges from scratch.)

 

A flagstone path to the gate.
Or a curving flagstone path to the gate.

 

And another up the back hill.
And another up the back hill.

 

Vines picking through the lattice on the side of the deck.
Vines peek through the lattice on the side of the deck.

 

Moss around the patio stones.
Moss grows around the patio stones.

 

Flowers selected for shape and color.
There are flowers, strategically selected for shape and color and positioned carefully.

 

Some looking almost wild at the base of a tree.
While others look almost wild, tangled at the base of a tree.

 

Bushes and other various bits of vegetation aren’t so thick as to block light, but provide nice sight privacy from the neighborhood.

IMG_1229

IMG_1233

 

IMG_1252

 

My dad seems to intuitively know what natural elements to leave alone too.

Like toadstools around a tree stump that make me think of fairies.
I doubt he was trying to make the area in the back look like a place fairies might gather…but it totally does.

 

My parents’ backyard has turned into one of the most pleasant summer spots I know.

(Now if somebody could just eliminate the mosquitoes!!!)

*

The artist.
The artist.

 

4 thoughts on “Summer Places: The Nicest Backyard I Know

  1. It is certainly a bliss! The most amazing fact is that your father singlehandedly works on it, honestly it seems more professionally maintained. It reminds me of my granny’s home and her love for landscaping. I cherish the time I spend there ( just like your kids): by far the most peaceful destination for me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

