Taking Pictures

The more I practice with my camera and try to improve as a photographer, the more fun I’m having with the whole process! It’s challenging (aperture vs shutter speed vs ISO vs white balance vs about a million other options on my camera that I’m only beginning to understand.) But it’s so interesting! It’s not just lighting the image appropriately, or framing it properly (neither of which are small considerations.) It’s about trying to get to an end result that feels the way I want it to feel. That’s my personal goal, anyway.

So I practice with what’s around me out of necessity – and this is fine. I mean, there’s no reason to go and seek out all kinds of really interesting things to shoot when I can’t get the image lit properly and everything gets all distorted. (I’ve put the camera to full manual mode now..and it’s tricky!) I might as well be taking pictures of my kids or my dog – of which I have a million already! (It’s rarely a great loss if I mess up one of those shots. There are so many chances to take more!)

But still….the more I get into this, the more curious I am to try my hand at different styles of photography. I want to get out and experiment. I’d like to try portraiture, for one thing (of other people besides my kids…or myself!) And I’d really, really like to try event photography. I run into articles occasionally (or often, actually!) that really get my imagination going – like this one on concert photography from 500px.

I’m well aware that nobody is going to let novice-me get as close to the likes of Paul Simon or Green Day or any of the other performers showcased in that article as I would need to, to get photos the likes of those – even if I was adept enough a photographer to actually be capable artistically of getting them. But…wow! I can’t help dreaming. The energy of an event like a rock concert….the sheer spectacle (lights, stage, crowd) would be so, so interesting to try to capture.

*

Well, in the meantime I work with what I have!

*

Yesterday I tried, as an experiment, to log my day, photographically. There were a few issues: I forgot about the whole thing at some pivotal moments, for one thing – like, I like to cook; that should have been captured in some fashion, but wasn’t. And my battery (I only have the one right now) would need to get charged occasionally, so I missed a few things that way. And then there’s the fact that, as I’m doing everything completely manually right now, I mess up frequently with light and exposure – and so lose shots that way.

But still! It was fun anyway. I’d like to try it again – and do it better.

At any rate, this is what I managed to put together from what I took yesterday:

First task out of bed: Grab the camera and take a picture in the bathroom mirror.
First task out of bed: Grab the camera and take a picture in the bathroom mirror….just to get things started.
As usual, the order of business is to find a way to amuse my two companions - preferably in a manner that does not involve cartoons or video games (at least, not first thing in the morning!)
As usual, the order of business is to find a way to amuse my two companions – preferably in a manner that does not involve cartoons or video games (at least, not first thing in the morning!)
Anything train-related works for Henry.
Anything train-related can be counted on to work for Henry.
But it's a really nice morning and we're all in the mood for a walk. So I grab my camera and Mae grabs her scooter...
But, as it’s a really nice morning, we find that we’re all in the mood for a walk. So I grab my camera and Mae grabs her scooter…
...Henry grabs his helmet and bike - and we're off!
…Henry grabs his helmet and bike – and we’re off!
We see some wildlife: geese and ducks. The leaves are a little in the way, but I didn't want to get too close and scare anybody.
We see some wildlife: geese and ducks. The leaves are a little in the way, but I didn’t want to get too close and scare anybody.
I apparently needn't have worried about the ducks. They came right over near me to look for food in the grass. I must have looked harmless!
I apparently needn’t have worried about the ducks. They came right over near me to look for food in the grass. I must have looked harmless!
A little farther and we saw a blue heron. (It's very slightly easier to see in black&white.) I DID get too close to him. He took off right after I took this.
A little farther and we saw a blue heron. (It’s very slightly easier to see in black&white.) I DID get too close to him. He took off right after I took this.
We had the obligatory playground stop.
We had the obligatory playground stop.
And stopped for flowers.
And also stopped for flowers.
The bouquet was a gift to me, as it's known that clover flowers are my favorite wildflowers.
The bouquet was a gift to me, as it’s known that clover flowers are my favorite wildflowers.
All-in-all, a really nice walk. We all enjoyed it.
All-in-all, a really nice walk. We all enjoyed it.
Once settled in at home again, I (admittedly) caved to the video game requests.
Once settled in at home again, I (admittedly) caved to the video game requests.
Video games are serious business.
Video games are serious business.
Lots of drama!
Lots of drama!
While they were busy with that, I hung out with my dog.
While they were busy with that, I hung out with my dog.
I thought about cleaning, but it turned out to be a lot more fun to take pictures of the cleaning supplies.
I thought about cleaning, but it turned out to be a lot more fun to take pictures of the cleaning supplies.
I went out on the patio to see if I was inspired to take any pictures out there. (When the best thing you can find to take is your own reflection in the sliding glass door, the answer to that is NO!) I did notice when I was out there that it looked like it was going to rain.
I eventually wandered out to the patio, thinking there’d probably be something out there worth taking a picture of. (When the best thing you can find is your own reflection in the sliding glass door, the answer to that is unfortunately NO!)
Well, the seashell mobile came out pretty well. (Of course, I have a slight bias toward thinking this thing is cool. The kids and I made it...and, as I'm not particularly crafty, I find myself ridiculously proud with how well this turned out!!)
Well, there IS the seashell mobile. (Of course, I have a slight bias toward thinking this thing is cool. The kids and I made it together…and, as I’m not particularly crafty, I find myself ridiculously proud with how well it turned out!!)
And a close-up.
And a close-up.

After that it was time to make dinner…get the kids bathed and to bed…and then get myself to bed.

Typical day. Not the most interesting, I know!

Though that blue heron was pretty cool…

4 thoughts on “Taking Pictures

  1. Fun post. I’m enjoying playing with my new camera this summer as well. My newest toy for it is a wide angle lens which is a lot of fun. I’m still messing around with the various auto modes. The aperture, ISO, etc. is SO confusing to me. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. ME TOO!!

      I just happened upon this though: http://digital-photography-school.com/15-best-cheat-sheets-printables-infographics-photographers/. (Literally JUST happened upon it, right before I read your comment!) I haven’t looked at it too thoroughly yet, but it looks like it might be extremely helpful.

      I just might print some of these “cheat sheets” out and keep them in my camera bag. It might be awkward pulling them out…but probably no more so than fumbling around adjusting things when I don’t really know what I’m doing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

