Ready For Fall! (or, WP Daily Prompt: AUTUMN LEAVES)

The daily blogging prompt from WordPress today:

“Changing colors, dropping temperatures, pumpkin spice lattes: do these mainstays of Fall fill your heart with warmth — or with dread?”

*

I don’t usually respond to the blogging prompts. Not because I don’t find them interesting; often I do. It’s just that I usually have more things to blog about of my own creation than I have time to write!

But this one I just couldn’t pass up.

*

Does Fall fill my heart with dread? Never! I’m most definitely a “heart filled with warmth” Fall person.

The only thing bothering me about Fall right now is that I’m in northern Virginia….and it was in the upper eighties this weekend! It’s getting me down!

I’m just not in the mood right now for sleeveless shirts and warm air. If I was at the beach, maybe I could make my peace with it. (Probably without much difficulty!) But you know what….I’m not! And I’m so ready for that cool, crisp briskness of Fall.

*

I’ve been taking a lot of wishing-for-Fall pictures lately.

Pictures of just-turning leaves and some of the endless acorns, for example.

And my daughter in her first sweater of the year (short-sleeved still, admittedly – but it’s a sweater!)

IMG_5679

This evening, it cooled just enough for her to wear her new kitty knee socks to run out to the store. I wore tights myself.

This was a happy end to the warm weekend! (Knee socks and tights are very “Fall” to me.)

IMG_5713

*

One of the things I love most about Fall is that there’s this energy permeating everything. It makes me want to go places….just move. It’s such a refreshing feeling, after the heat-induced slowdown of summertime.

IMG_5714

Back-to-school is a big driver of that feeling, I’m sure. Though I have to say, even when I wasn’t in school myself and didn’t have kids in yet, I still felt that vibe (maybe from all the years of being in school?) It’s just something about the air.

IMG_4973

*

I do like summer (particularly, as noted above, if I’m at the ocean. In that case, I LOVE summer!) And I like winter fairly well (particularly when there’s a lot of pretty snow and fireplaces with big, crackling fires.) But Spring and Fall have my heart.

I love Spring for its newness and promise. Spring hints at sunshine and flowers and the smell of rain and earth, and all of that lovely new green on the trees….and then it brings all of that into being.

Fall’s promise is different. Fall is a briskness that beckons you to quicken your pace, click into gear, get things done…and then, at the end of the day, curl up with a book and a blanket and listen to the howling wind. (Even if it’s not windy, you can look out at the leaves falling from the trees and the bare branches and imagine the wind!) I love the way Fall invites you to get cozy.

*

A few things instantly put me in the mood for Fall. The smell of a bonfire for instance. The feel of wool socks.

And then there’s that pumpkin spice latte mentioned in the prompt.

IMG_5722

And yes, I had one today! This is a picture of it. The prompt actually prompted me to get one!

*

I do really love Fall.

4 thoughts on “Ready For Fall! (or, WP Daily Prompt: AUTUMN LEAVES)

  1. I’m right there with you, there’s something about Fall that awakens you and rejuvenates you. It makes you feel productive and yet you can still relax and unwind at the end of the day to snuggle up under a blanket, read a book, and just enjoy the season. Fall will always be my favorite season for this reason. I just love fall. And gosh your pumpkin spice latte looks to die for!

    ❤ and harp strings,
    Kate

    Like

Leave a Reply

