Breaking Out the Paints

My kids had a day off from school today (some teacher in-service thing.)

So we broke out the paints for the first time in a while.
So we broke out the paints – for the first time in a while.
Squeezing the kid paints out of bottles produced some air bubbles that look way weirder in the picture than they actually did in real life!
Squeezing the kid paints out of bottles produced some air bubbles that look way weirder in the picture than they actually did in real life!
But they still produced perfectly good paintings.
But bubbles notwithstanding, those paints produced perfectly good paintings. (My daughter was very pleased with her rainbow!)
At 8 and 5, both kids are actually old enough now to get really into their work...not just slop paint around. It's really nice for me because I can actually be easy, knowing that nobody will grab at my camera with a paint-y hand! Also, that I won't have to toss my camera aside to stop somebody from putting a paintbrush in their mouth or something. (The toddler years are hard work!!)
At 8 and 5, both kids are actually old enough now to get really into their work…not just slop paint around.

It’s actually really nice for me. Partly because I just enjoy watching them create. But also because they get really “zen” about it. They both love art, and are pretty good artists – and proud of it. They’re quite ambitious about what they want to create. It’s fun – and often really interesting – to be around them when they’re in that “zone.”

I’m also not that far removed from the toddler years that I don’t remember EXACTLY what that was like! And I can’t help reveling every once in a while in the knowledge that I can actually relax with my camera, knowing that nobody will, say, grab at the lens with a paint-y hand! Also, that I won’t have to toss the camera aside suddenly to stop somebody from putting a paintbrush in their mouth or something. (I don’t miss those days!!)

It was a really nice afternoon. We all enjoyed it!
It was a really nice afternoon. We all enjoyed it!
Leave a Reply

