Kids + Snow Day + Freshly Renovated (and not quite done yet) Apartment = Complete and Utter Chaos

I’m pulling my hair out already – and it’s not even noon!

I love spending time with my kids. I like when they have snow days – and unexpected extra time with me.

But today??

Today’s a little problematic.

The apartment is being renovated this week. It looks really nice – but it’s been difficult existing within a work zone the last few days. More to the point, it’s been difficult managing two little kids and a dog in a work zone the last few days!

It’s almost finished now. A cleaning crew is set to come in today and get rid of all the plaster and wood chips and other leftover worker grime – so today isn’t actually as tough of a day to have the kids home as Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday would have been. But still – it’s grimy! And the kids are CRAZY!!!!!!!!! (And with that, challenging to manage in this space.)

I can’t say I really blame them. There’s something about wide open space that does that to a kid, I think. And not just a kid! I feel it a little bit myself – that urge to skate on your socks across the open floor, to hear your voice bounce and echo off the bare walls, the desire to run and slip and slide and just throw your body around. (Okay, maybe I don’t so much feel that last one….but I’m all over the sock-skating!)

There IS a bright side to the chaos of this morning, however: The constant, incessant motion got me wondering if I could adequately capture something of what it feels like around here today photographically – and then I started experimenting.

Usually I tend to set my shutter speed rather high when photographing my kids – because, though this morning is something of a new level for them, at 8 and 6, they’re usually in pretty much constant motion.

So, I started out snapping pictures at the higher settings – and it just wasn’t right. So then I started messing around.

That blurring effect that comes when you set the shutter speed low pleased me. It caught the vibe much better!:

This one was taken during the "tackle each other while we play with a little rubber bouncy ball" game.
For example, here’s a photo taken during the “tackle each other while we play with a little rubber bouncy ball” game. The blur, I found, was necessary to in any way capture the manic energy of this game!
Then there was the "I'm a scary monster coming to eat you, Maisy!" game.
Same with the “I’m a scary monster coming to eat you, Maisy!” game.
I think this one was, "crawl to the kitchen and then shimmy back across the length of the apartment on your stomach."
I think this one was taken during the, “crawl really fast to the kitchen and then shimmy back across the length of the apartment on your stomach” game.
This was, "frogs on lily pads."
This was definitely the “frogs on lily pads” game. (I actually liked this one. It was cute!)
And of course, when all else fails, just run around.
When all else fails, you can always just run around.
My daughter in a rare resting moment.
Here’s one of my daughter in a rare resting moment. (There weren’t many of these!)
I actually can't believe I got one picture of them together and NOT moving!! (Though I think sitting like this might have led to the wrestling game....)
And I actually can’t believe I got one picture of them together and NOT moving!! (Though I think sitting like this might have been what led to the wrestling game….)

So the moral here is that everything is a photography learning experience. (And if it’s not, it’s because I’m just not thinking creatively enough!)

Knowing that is definitely the silver lining to crazy days like today!

2 thoughts on “Kids + Snow Day + Freshly Renovated (and not quite done yet) Apartment = Complete and Utter Chaos

Leave a Reply

