The 5 Songs You Should Be Listening to Right Now (according to my six-year-old daughter)

This is an update to a post I created last summer, wherein I listed my daughter’s favorite songs (drawn largely from music she hears me playing for myself.) I really enjoy playing music when she’s near and seeing what resonates with her – and talking to her about why. It’s so interesting! Both as a mirror into where she’s at, mentally and emotionally, and just as another way of looking at/absorbing the music myself. Her take on this kind of stuff intrigues me.

Most of our musical explorations happen at her bedtime. Since my laptop died last Fall (and I haven’t been able to replace it yet), we don’t maintain an ongoing playlist anymore – so these days it’s more about her requesting things that I then find on YouTube and play for her from my phone.

I’ve noticed that there seem to be a handful of songs that dominate at any given moment in time. One might eventually slide away to be replaced by something else that she’s heard, or heard me play – but the five below have been holding steady for the last month or so. (Though I think R.E.M. might be starting to slip a little.)

So, going in backwards order to her favorite at #1, here’s the current list:

5) R.E.M.’s “Find the River”

4) Norah Jones’ “Humble Me”

(This one might be MY favorite Norah Jones song now, too. It’s really beautiful. This entire concert is up on YouTube…and it’s a really nice listen in its entirety.)

3) Thirty Seconds to Mars’ “Kings and Queens” (the acoustic version)

2) Mumford & Sons’ “Believe”

(She especially loves to sing this one. She’s turning me into a much bigger fan of it, I have to say! I liked it okay before, but the more she sings it, the more it’s growing on me. She sings it really well!!)

1) Natalie Merchant’s “Break Your Heart”

(This is the hands-down favorite, the one she wants on repeat. She really likes the video, too. The imagery of people not paying attention and in so doing inadvertently hurting others…but then sometimes helping each other – she totally gets that. She thinks about things like that a lot – about being kind to people, etc; that’s just what she’s like. That’s where her mind goes. So this has a lot of meaning for her. She’s actually turning into a huge Natalie Merchant fan these days! She listens really intently to Natalie Merchant lyrics and asks me lots of questions.)

*

Granted, she’s drawing from music I’ve played because I like it…but I like her taste!

One thought on “The 5 Songs You Should Be Listening to Right Now (according to my six-year-old daughter)

Leave a Reply

