Weekly Photo Challenge: INSPIRATION

This week’s photo challenge:

“What is your inspiration? What moves you? What is it that never fails to motivate you, to get you going, or make you happy?”

*

I was trying to think of a less obvious inspiration to name than “my kids”…because, while I am very inspired by my kids, naming them seems like something every other person (at least, every other parent) would say in response to this topic. I thought I’d try to be more original than that.

And I truly am inspired by many, many things.

Quotations.
Quotations, say.
And then there comes a day when you look out at a beautiful sunrise and you realize that, whatever stresses and anxieties you have in your life (and you definitely have some), HE is actually not one of them anymore. You're past that. It's a melancholy memory. It's not your present anymore. And that's an wonderful, amazing thing to realize.
And sunrises.
Taking steps forward!
Spring grass…
I think this is my favorite shot. I'm kind of amazed it (and the others too) came out as well as they did, considering I was taking them from the backseat of a moving car.
…and the play of sky and clouds.
The ocean. (Assateague Island, Maryland. Summer 2014)
The ocean hugely inspires me.
(Assateague Island, Maryland. Summer 2014)
So do butterflies.
And butterflies.
Golden hour.
And Golden Hour.
A spot on the lens with this one too!!!! But this is my favorite shot anyway. The clouds look like an ocean, and the tops of the hills like islands. It was mystical - and really, really beautiful.
And low-lying clouds that look like mythical seas.

But honestly? All of these things notwithstanding (and I could go on and on listing!) I have to circle around and say my kids. I have to…because they are truly my greatest and most consistent sources of inspiration. Nothing compares. Nothing touches them.

And it’s not just because they’re my kids and I love them. It’s not because they motivate me to be the best I can be for them – so that their lives will be as good as I can make them. It’s not because I want them to be proud of me.

I mean, it IS all of those – but that’s not the whole of it.

It’s more because of who they are and how they live their moments.

They inspire me because they don't forget, ever, to look around them. They remind me, every single day (no exaggeration) that there are interesting and beautiful things to be seen, knowledge to be gained, and adventures to be had. Every moment holds that potential. You don't want to let yourself miss your moments, lost in worry or distraction. If you do, you just might miss A MUSHROOM AS BIG AS YOUR HAND!!!!
It’s because they don’t forget, ever, to look around them. They remind me, every single day (no exaggeration) that there are interesting and beautiful things to be seen, knowledge to be gained, and adventures to be had…that every moment holds that potential. They compel me to remember that I don’t want to let myself lose moments to worries or distractions. Because if I do, I just might miss A MUSHROOM AS BIG AS MY HAND!!!! (And who wants that to happen?!?)
And they inspire me to live outside of the box...to ask why a lot. And more importantly: Why not? Because seriously, who's to say it's a waste of time to read a story to the dog? It's a kindness...and kindness is never wasted time. (And you know what? She [the dog] may or may not have gotten much out of the actual story, but she sure did like the attention! It was totally worth my daughter's time!)
And they’re not confined by narrow thinking. They live creatively, outside of the box. They ask why a lot – and more importantly: “Why not?” They inspire me to follow my own ideas – regardless of what anybody else thinks of them. Because after all, WHO SAYS it’s a waste of time to read a story to the dog? It’s an act of kindness at the very least…and kindness is never a waste of time. (And you know what? While she [the dog] may or may not have gotten much out of the actual story my daughter read to her here, she most definitely appreciated the attention. So that WAS 15 minutes very well spent!)
Parenting is challenging - make no mistake. But I get back everything I give tenfold...seriously. These guys, just by being themselves, make everything so much richer and fuller and more colorful. And they constantly inspire me!
Parenting is challenging – make no mistake. But I get back everything I give these guys tenfold. They are constant inspirations to me. In photography, in life, in everything!
8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: INSPIRATION

  1. Love your choice for this challenge. It’s great that your kids inspire you. I’m sure you are their inspiration as well. Often times, I find that the most challenging things are most worthwhile, and when you overcome these challenges, that in itself is inspirational. All the best to you and your family.

    Like

    1. I completely agree. Hitting those rough patches can be really disheartening – but if you can just hold on to the fact that you WILL get through them, and that you’ll be the stronger for it, it helps! (And my kids really help me with that – with their affection, and their enthusiasm for life.)

      Thanks for your thoughts! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

