Lists of 5: Round Four

It’s time, I think, for another “Lists of 5” post – if only because I have time on my hands tonight, and I find that I’m in the mood!

I do have fun with these – but more than that, they’re personally interesting to me because I find I can tell a lot about myself and where I’m at by looking at seemingly inconsequential things like what I’m eating and reading, what music I have on a playlist, what travel locales I’m hankering for at the moment. I like to stop and look from within this framework every now and again. It’s a strangely efficient tool for self-analysis.

So, the last one of I did was five months ago. And now today we have:

The Last 5 Books I Read (beginning with the one I’m currently reading and going backwards from there.) I’m not going to spend time giving my opinions about these, as my last couple of blog posts pretty much already do that…at least regarding the first three. I don’t have much to say about #4; it was okay. Not as interesting or useful to me as I’d hoped. #5 was a very, very useful photography book. I got it from the library; I might have to purchase that one:

  1. The Mists of Avalon, Marion Zimmer Bradley
  2. Lady of the Forest, Jennifer Roberson
  3. Poke the Box, Seth Godin
  4. The Martha Rules, Martha Stewart
  5. Art of Everyday Photography, Susan Tuttle

The Last 5 Songs That Came Up When I Set My Music Player to Random:

  1. “Folk Song Melody,” Maria Taylor 
  2. “Stay Gold,” First Aid Kit 
  3. “Wave of Mutilation,” The Pixies 
  4. “This Time Around,” Luna 
  5. “Intro,” The xx 

The Last 5 Movies I’ve Seen:

  1. Ex Machina (I thought this was pretty good when I watched it…but I didn’t expect it to stick with me as it has. I find myself thinking of it in odd moments – which is a mark of a movie that’s hit the deeper levels, I think. The last movie that hit me like that [stayed with me and came back on me like that] was Mr. Nobody – except that one was so convoluted that it left me feeling like it was unfinished in a weird way, which was frustrating. Ex Machina was definitely finished and complete – and just posed a lot of really fascinating questions that linger. To my surprise, I’ve found the issues it raised about women to be more compelling than the ones about A.I. [though those were pretty compelling too.] Interesting, interesting movie.)
  2. To the Wonder (I watched this one to educate myself. Terrence Malick is a pretty famous director, and I’d read that his films are really visually stunning. So I was curious. And this was definitely visually interesting to me…but otherwise, I admit, I found it pretty lacking. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind for it or something? I don’t know…but it felt, watching it, like I was watching a foreign language film without subtitles. A French film, say – because I can read French fairly well, but I have a horrible ear for languages, so I can only pick out a few words here and there when it comes to spoken French – enough, maybe, to get the gist, but not the nuance. Watching this movie [which, to be clear, was in English!!] felt like that. I understood what was going on, but I felt like I was missing something important. I was watching it alone…so I don’t know if it was me or the movie. [I don’t have anybody else’s opinion to compare with.] If anybody reading this has seen this one, I’d be very interested in your impressions!)
  3. Emma (This is my third time watching this miniseries. It’s entertaining – but I’ll be honest and admit here that that’s not why I’ve seen it three times. Though I’m not really somebody who believes in the concept of “too old” for things [I think age is irrelevant to pretty much everything], I do feel on one level that I maybe ought to be beyond having big crushes on movie actors. But then I watch Jonny Lee Miller in this [or anything] and I invariably decide to worry about that another day.)
  4. Interstellar (This was pretty interesting. I don’t know what I expected going into it. From everything I’d heard and read, I expected to like it. But, as it turned out, it was much more interesting and compelling than I’d expected. I couldn’t predict the plot twists and turns…and I like movies that I can’t predict. Matthew McConaughey was excellent, too.)
  5. Inception (This was good.)

The Last 5 Online Articles/Blog Posts I’ve Read. I’m committed to being honest when I put this category together. Being as that’s the case, it would be nice if someday maybe I was not embarrassed by something (or somethings, plural) that I had to include for honesty’s sake. That day is not today.:

  1. Burning Questions About Jennifer Aniston’s Wedding Answered
  2. James Baldwin on the Creative Process and the Artist’s Responsibility to Society
  3. Synchronicity
  4. Gwyneth Paltrow Can’t Stop Playing On Her Phone in Washington, and It’s Hilarious
  5. Gwyneth Paltrow Goes to Market

The Last 5 Food/Drink Items I Consumed (in order from most recent.) I need to plan these “List of 5” posts better – because this category would be a good place for me to practice food photography and actually show rather than just list. Next time!:

  1. Lavender tea
  2. Triscuits with green pepper slices and big-eye swiss wedges. (I’m trying to be vegan now, through the end of the year…but I fell off the wagon [obviously] a bit tonight. Damn cheese.)
  3. Mango lemonade + mandarin orange seltzer
  4. Apple slices
  5. Matcha tea

    A pot of matcha tea to start the day.
    I actually do have a photo for the matcha, taken earlier today when I was playing with my camera. It was my son’s idea to loop the vine through the handle of the pot, incidentally. He has a good eye!

The Last 5 Things That Inspired Me:

  1. My dog. (She’s come through some health problems, and is currently feeling really good. Good enough to be really, really interested in her environment. And I know this because she tells me about her environment. Loudly. EVERY LITTLE THING SHE HEARS OR SEES OR THINKS SHE HEARS OR SEES IN HER ENVIRONMENT. I love her so much, but it’s….trying. But then a few days ago it occurred to me that if I can manage to stay calm and centered, etc, even when she’s driving me crazy, that’s really good practice for, well, life. Right? So I’ve been working on it. It’s only been two days – but I actually do think it’s helping me – helping me more than a little bit. Who would have thought??)

    Puppy love.
    Heres a shot of her (in a quiet moment!) with my son. This is another one from the group I took earlier today.
  2. The Head and The Heart’s “Let’s Be Still” (as noted here.)
  3. My kids (as noted here.)
  4. Photographer Jenna Martin’s recent blog post (as noted here.)
  5. Seth Godin’s Poke the Box (as noted here.)

The 5 Places I’d Travel To Today if Time and Money Were No Object:

I actually don’t have 5 this time. I mean, I could probably come up with 5 (or 10…or more. A big list. I have a perpetually big list of places living in my head.)

But right now? I just want to go somewhere with a big, wide sky and bright, endless stars. And the ocean.

A sky full of stars over the ocean…that’s what I want.

I don’t even know where I’m talking about. I imagine it can’t be near any big cities, with their light pollution. And I want to be on the shore, not a boat. (I’m not really a boat kind of person.) But I don’t really know what to say after that.

Wherever it is though, that’s where I’d go.

The Last 5 Beautiful Things I Encountered in the Everyday (I’ll amend this category this time to say “In the Everyday & That I Also Happened to put up on Instagram or EyeEm“…because those are the only pics I have access to right at this moment!) So:

I don't know what kind of flower this is...but it's pretty. Prettier through the camera lens than I even realized it was in
I don’t know what kind of flower this is…but it’s pretty. Prettier through the camera lens than I even realized it was in “real life.”
Pumpkin leaves in the sunshine look tissue-paper thin. (Which they most definitely are not!)
Pumpkin leaves in the sunshine look tissue-paper thin. (Which they most definitely are not!)
The star-shaped geometry of newborn tomatoes is interesting.
The star-shaped geometry of newborn tomatoes is interesting.
She's so proud these days to call herself a
This little one is so proud these days to call herself a “rising first grader.” (NOT kindergartener anymore, thank you very much!)
The kids and I encountered this guy on the patio of the apartment a few weeks ago. He visited us multiple times before we were finally able to catch him and pass him to a rescue agency. We couldn't find his owner and so we suspect he was dumped by somebody moving out of the apartment complex. Poor little thing. The rescue lady, when she picked him up, told us he was likely just a few months old. (We're pretty guinea-pig-ignorant, so we had no idea.) Who would do that???
The kids and I encountered this guy on the patio of the apartment a few weeks ago. He visited us multiple times before we were finally able to catch him and pass him to a rescue agency. We couldn’t find his owner and so we suspect he was dumped by somebody moving out of the apartment complex. Poor little thing. The rescue lady, when she picked him up, told us he was likely just a few months old. (We’re pretty guinea-pig-ignorant, so we had no idea if he was big or small or young or old or what.) Who would dump a creature you’d kept as a pet? That’s bad enough. But how could you dump your just-barely-not-a-baby pet??? That’s just so heartless. I mean, if WE could find a guinea pig rescue agency, surely this guy’s owners could have found a place to surrender him. The Humane Society if nowhere else.

The Last 5 Photos I’ve Taken (It occurs to me that the photos I would put in category would be a little redundant today, given the other post I published earlier. So I’ll just refer you there!)

*

Okay, another “Lists of 5” done….for a few months anyway!

2 thoughts on “Lists of 5: Round Four

Leave a Reply

