A North Carolina Ocean

I was in North Carolina for a week with my parents and my kids and my brothers and my brother’s family. The family dynamics were at times interesting (as family dynamics can be when you’re thrown into close quarters with people you care a lot about but don’t get to see very often)…and I was sick for the better part of the week…and my mom threw her back out…and my brother spent the first couple of days freaking out because he heard from his landlady in California that his car, on the street outside his apartment in Santa Cruz, was about to be to towed and impounded. There was more stuff.

But all in all it was good to touch base with everyone.

I might have more to say about that. But for now, I just want to point out that, challenges notwithstanding, the experience could never ultimately be anything but edifying for one very important reason:  THE OCEAN WAS THERE. ALL WEEK. RIGHT THERE…RIGHT OVER THE DUNE!

This ocean.
This ocean.
Here it is, splashing over my feet.
Here it is in close-up, splashing over my feet.

Sometimes the sun set over that ocean.

Here, for instance.
Here, for instance.
And I got to sit there and look at it.
And I got to sit there and look at it. (Those are my feet.)

I don’t know if it’s something in my ancestry…some inherited urge, come down to me from some distant seafaring relation or something. But I don’t feel good when I’m too far from the ocean for too long.

Even a storm that rolled in mid-week didn’t make it less beautiful. It brought a wonderful wind. And the night before, when it was moving in, it brought such a lovely sky.

The dune, with that sky behind it.
The dune, with that sky behind it.
My brother, with the sky.
My brother (and his beautiful eyelashes) with the sky.
My other brother and the sky. (He let me angle him to catch it through his glasses!)
My other brother and the sky. (He, very kindly and patiently, let me angle him to catch it through his glasses!) I REALLY need to increase my photo-editing skills. I know there’s a way to brighten this without losing the detail of the sky…I just don’t know how to do it yet.

The humidity, pre-storm, misted the lens of my camera at first. But before I wiped it off, I took some shots. And I’m really glad I did! They came out really well, I think.

The dune again.
The dune again.
And again. (The dunes were good models for me :) )
And again. (The dunes were good models for me all week 🙂 )

I’m sure I’ve said it before here, but I’ll say it again: I LOVE THE OCEAN.

Someday, I’ll live at the shore. (Climate change and sea-level-rise be damned!)

3 thoughts on “A North Carolina Ocean

Leave a Reply

