Tuesdays of Texture Photo Challenge (#3)

Autumn is so full of textures…everywhere you look! There’s something interesting to see even when you’re just glancing down into a cardboard bin outside of your local Whole Foods:

wpid-img_0386.jpg

I have to find out what kind of pumpkins these are. (Or are they gourds?? What IS the difference between a pumpkin and a gourd? I have to look that up.) And as I’m posting this for the Tuesdays of Texture Photo Challenge, I will note that they feel exactly like a regular-sized, common orange pumpkin – and visually look like one too (texture-wise.)

They’re considerably smaller than that common orange pumpkin though. Definitely not suited for Halloween carving, as they fit in my hand!

I really like their size, I have to say…and I especially like their stripes! They look festive!

7 thoughts on “Tuesdays of Texture Photo Challenge (#3)

  1. I think those gourds would be Pump Ke Mon. Pumpkins are a specific kind of gourd, which is the overall term… Wikipedia has a good explanation for gourds under the heading of “terminology”.

    Like

    1. They ARE Pump Ke Mon! Thank you so much for that info. (And for saving me the trouble of looking it up myself!) I don’t know if it’s a symptom of having my camera with me so much of the time anymore or what, but I’m finding myself really interested in gourds and other Fall produce this year. The colors, the textures. I want to learn more about the different kinds. Thanks again for getting me off to a good start! 🙂

      Like

        1. There are so many interesting colors, textures and details – as a photographer you train your eye to see things from different angles, and that makes for interesting photos!

          Like

  2. Sorry I’m late leaving feedback (laptop woes). I love the stripey colors on this and I’ll have you know that I almost went for a cabbage this week 🙂

    Did you get any? I don’t remember where I read or saw that you can do those in the microwave in a few minutes because they are so small and I thought that was mighty handy.

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

