Weekly Photo Challenge: (EXTRA)ORDINARY

This week’s photo challenge:

“Mundane and meaningful objects. Beautiful everyday things. This week, surprise us with something or someone (extra)ordinary.”

*

I’m afraid I’ll look like I’m taking the not-giving-it-any-thought route, using this picture to respond to this photo challenge. But I find that I can’t help it! It just feels like such a perfect image for this challenge…I have to use it:

wpid-img_20151013_170715.jpg

It seems to me that Fall is the season when the things we take for granted for months – leaves for instance – stand up and remind us to open our eyes. Remind us on a daily basis that there IS something extraordinary to be found within the ordinary.

And maybe we semi-expect such a lesson in the bright reds and oranges and goldens of autumn leaves…but a leaf like this one I came across a few days ago takes it a step further – reminding that there’s beauty to be found outside of the bold as well. There’s beauty to be found even in the semi-turned greens that fall to the ground before ever reaching the vividness of their fellows. It’s a simpler, subtler beauty maybe…but it’s still there.

The fact is, there’s beauty and charm and worth (and the extraordinary!) to be found in even the quietest, simplest things, when it comes down to it. You just have to open your eyes and see it.

Fall gets me contemplating things like that. (I love Fall!)

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: (EXTRA)ORDINARY

Leave a Reply

