Weekly Photo Challenge: CIRCLE

This week’s photo challenge:

With [“circle”], you may go literal, and look for things around you with perfectly round shapes: your wedding ring, the bubbles your daughter blows, the curvy sculptures at your local museum, or the glittery sphere that falls during a New Year’s Eve countdown. Or, you might consider what this familiar shape represents: the cycle of life and death, infinity, perfection, and more.

*

One of the perks of still sharing living space with my ex-husband is that he’s a talented papercut artist. And, as such, he occasionally creates things that are REALLY COOL, just to practice, or to see if he can. The papercut equivalent of doodling, basically.

For example: while helping our daughter make strings of paperdolls the other day (the old-fashioned kind that connect at their hands in a long string), he cut out a string of dragonflies – just for the heck of it. He was going to throw them out with the paperdoll scraps (!!), but I snagged them and saved them.

IMG_1790
These definitely deserve a better fate than the trash bin!

I’ve felt this little connection to dragonflies ever since last summer. (Laugh at that if you want! I’ll just refer you to this post for my new approach to such things.) So the fact that it was dragonflies, of all creatures, that he decided to create, struck me as notable.

Dragonflies are supposed to symbolize transformation and change, as well as the search for personal authenticity, among other things. And the second half of 2015 was definitely a period for all of that for me. Hugely so. More than at any time since my ex and I split up, actually. I felt conscious of that, of the changing, as it was happening these last months – but now that I’m starting to be not quite so much in the thick of it, the awareness is very pronounced. I feel like I’ve finally emerged from a very tangly patch of jungle path, and have now entered a beautiful clearing. Everything looks a little different than it did before, and I’m a little nervous about that – but at the same time, it’s just so beautiful! I just want to immerse in it and see where it takes me next.

So basically, 2015 set the stage for a lot of “different-ness” in this, the new year. And dragonflies (and some other things) are the visible signposts of that, in my head.

I’m looking forward to witnessing the unfolding of this year!

(And this little circle of dragonflies has a permanent home on my bedroom windowsill for the duration!)

Leave a Reply

