Weekly Photo Challenge: TIME

This week’s photo challenge:

“[T]hink about time and portray it photographically. Maybe you have a photo about one of the activities in the extract from [Matt Haig’s book, Reasons to Stay Alive, which inspired the challenge]. Perhaps you have a fascination with clocks. Or maybe contemplating time takes you somewhere else completely….”

*

I included the below image in my last post (about the blizzard of two weeks ago) – but I couldn’t resist using it again for this! My son, surrounded by swirling snowflakes, arms outstretched, soaking up the moment…this exemplifies the idea of “time” for me:

IMG_2016

It’s because time (like the snow) is always moving, surrounding us, affecting us. We flow along with its current, like it or not. We can fight it…or we can embrace it.

He’s embracing it here!

I aspire to a relationship with time that is something like what my son epitomizes here: one where I’m (for lack of a better descriptor) “one” with time. Where I’m aware of its passage – but not in a way that makes me feel nervous or sad or uncomfortable. (I don’t always feel these things about time…but I do sometimes.)

I love the peace and satisfaction in his face. He’s so completely immersed in the moment.

It’s interesting to me to think about time as a collection of moments. Contemplating mindfulness and presence and all of their related components (which, if my blogging is any indication, I do fairly often) is also about contemplating time – and how to navigate it.

I hadn’t really thought of it like that before.

*

I need to tape this photo to my computer or something – somewhere I can see it and get inspired on the days when I need some extra help in the mindfulness stuff! 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: TIME

Leave a Reply

