3 Things I’m Loving Right Now: R.E.M., Spring Plants, Vegan Cooking

1-R.E.M.

Pretty much their entire musical catalog! I’ve been cycling it on repeat for the last two weeks.

And then (as if I needed reminding why I’ve loved R.E.M. so long and so well), a few days ago I ran across the below performance by Michael Stipe of David Bowie’s “Man Who Sold the World.” Which I have now listened to about twenty times.

3-My recently-procured plant menagerie. I just want to surround myself with growing things in the springtime.

IMG_23063-The Appetite for Reduction cookbook

The Post Punk Kitchen website has been one of my favorite places to visit for quite a while now, when I need some cooking inspiration. My one problem with it is that it’s not exactly friendly to eating lightly. (And to be clear: this isn’t the site’s issue…it’s mine! Nobody’s forcing me to choose the saucy, heavy recipes…but they’re just SO GOOD!!! And the fact that they’re all vegan just makes it harder to resist them. They can’t help but be interesting and nutritious.)

I had seen Appetite for Reduction (the lighter-side recipes collection of PPK chef Isa Chandra Moskowitz) here and there before, but had never picked it up and looked at it thoroughly – until a few weeks ago when I saw it in a used bookstore. It was a beautiful copy, too – so I grabbed it and brought it home.

And it’s AWESOME. The recipes I’ve tried so far have all been yummy – and, as they’re designed to be lighter, don’t leave me feeling over-stuffed and sluggish. I feel great actually – energized, in that way that you do when you’re eating right for yourself and feeding yourself properly vitamin-wise. I LOVE this cookbook!

 

 

Leave a Reply

