Daily Prompt: UNDERESTIMATE

Today’s blogging prompt from WordPress is the single word, UNDERESTIMATE.

*

I was reminded last weekend that some of the most beautiful, worthy things (to photograph, to view, or just to experience & absorb) are often the simple, natural ones. Wildflowers…sunny skies…imperfect, rough-hewed structures…bright green leaves on Spring trees.

IMG_2363
The value of simplicity should not be UNDERESTIMATEd!

*

I’ll add, while I’m thinking about it, that I also learned last weekend that farm birds should not be underestimated. I did not expect that lesson!! But they were surprisingly interesting to study & photograph:

*

I in fact find that I actually understand a little better, having “rubbed shoulders” with those turkeys last weekend, how it was that Ben Franklin could think, once-upon-a-time, that turkeys would be worthier than bald eagles to be named the national bird. I’ve always thought that was funny…because turkeys are odd-looking and funny-sounding. Who would want the turkey as an emblem of the new United States??

But I have to say, I have a new respect for turkeys now. They were actually pretty interesting!

The things you learn when you bother to really look! 🙂

*

**All photos taken by me last weekend, at Claude Moore Historical Farm, Mclean, VA**

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

