Proof That Photography Changes You

To say I’m not a fan of insects if a bit of an understatement.

I suppose I do like butterflies (so pretty!)

And, now that I think about it, I really love dragonflies.

And I can’t help but feel a little bit of affection and pity for honeybees lately, who have it really hard right now.

But that’s it!!

I can make my peace with certain other bugs – without going so far as to say I like them. But honestly, barring the aforementioned three, I really would prefer that insects just stay far away from me!

*

At least, that’s how I feel most of the time. I’ve found that it’s a little bit different when I have my camera in hand.

I mean, it’s not like I suddenly love bugs when I’m taking pictures – but they do suddenly get a lot more interesting. And even unpleasant (or icky!) things are more tolerable when they’re interesting. (At least, that’s the way it is for me.)

It’s funny. Pre-photography me would never have imagined (not in a million years) that there would come a day when she might be taking pictures of the flowering bushes behind her apartment…

IMG_2739

…and would actually be happy when a beetle intruded on the scene!:

IMG_2737
But he makes an interesting subject! I really like the metallic green of his top half.

I imagine insects have always been sort of interesting; I was just too squeamish to notice before.

But squeamishness pretty much guarantees that you’ll lose a shot – and so I find that there’s not a great deal that makes me squeamish anymore (when I have my camera with me, at least!)

*

It’s been an unexpected gift: the way the camera has compelled me to slow down, embody my moments, and really take things in. Life is so much richer that way…so much more beautiful. (Even the beetles!! 🙂 ) I’m grateful for that.

To say that embracing photography has changed the way I experience my life is not the slightest bit of an overstatement.

Leave a Reply

