Weekly Photo Challenge: OPPOSITES

This week’s photo challenge from WordPress:

“In your photo this week, show how opposites can tell a story about people, places, or objects. The tension can reside in what you choose to show — old vs. new, big vs. small, dark vs. light — or in how you frame and design your shot.”

*

DSC02089
Wildflowers and rock make for some excellent nature-obtained opposites, I think! As well as showcase the diversity you can find when you explore wild land.

*

This image was taken at Great Falls Park in McLean, VA, about three summers ago (I think.)

As an aside: I do try to post new photos when I do these challenges -and this one obviously isn’t that! But it feels new to me. So I took the liberty of using it.

As previously noted, I’ve been exploring darktable recently, as a way of easing into learning Gimp. And while I’m by no means a master yet, I’m finally at a point now where I don’t feel quite so clumsy with it. There are still portions of it that I don’t fully understand – but I’m feeling generally good about my ability to use it to get specific results.

And that means that some of my unsatisfying, older images are morphing now (courtesy of darktable!) into new, nicer versions of themselves. The image above is a case in point.

To illustrate, here’s the old version and new version side-by-side:

Coming from the very basic editing systems I was using (like PicMonkey), the ability darktable has given me to play with tone and detail feels really amazing! Artistically and creatively, it’s been really, really interesting. (And fun!)

I still don’t know that I’m quite ready yet to take on Gimp. I have, as I said, a ways to go still before I feel fully capable even in darktable.

But I feel good about my progress – and that’s satisfying!

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: OPPOSITES

Leave a Reply

