Tuesdays of Texture: OCTOBER 11th

Aargh! I just realized that I’ve been so undisciplined about posting over the last several months, that I haven’t participated in this photo challenge (which is actually one of my favorites!!) since JANUARY! That’s rather ridiculous.

Sigh.

Well, the bright side is that I’ve now noticed that – and that’s the first step toward whipping yourself back into shape, right? πŸ™‚

So here’s my contribution for this week’s Tuesdays of Texture Challenge!:

img_3069
I love full-fledged Autumn colors, of course! But this early-Autumn time that I’m in right now in central Virginia is pretty photographically interesting too. POSSIBLY even more so than later, as you have to look a little harder for the beauty and so see things perhaps in the hunt that you wouldn’t have otherwise noticed…which is how you find a tie-dyed leaf!

Beyond the color of this leaf, I really like its variances in texture. It makes for a surprising lot of photographic detail – with the brittle and chipping at the edges, on down to the soft and supple (and colorful) middle, and beyond. The light shining behind it does a good job of showcasing this, I think.

One thing I like a lot about Tuesdays of Texture is the way it compels me to formally address interesting conundrums – like how to most effectively utilize a visual medium to speak to something inherently tactile. It’s interesting!! It makes me stop and think about what I’m doing – and that deepens my understanding of my own troubleshooting and photographer thought processes.

I can’t believe I haven’t contributed here in so long!!!!

4 thoughts on “Tuesdays of Texture: OCTOBER 11th

  1. That’s a perfect image. Right there. The colors, light, composition and texture are all spot on; but my favorite part is the little hand holding the leaf πŸ™‚
    Thanks for what you say about Tuesdays of Texture, I do love to inspire photographic exploration! And thanks for sharing your image πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

