Weekly Photo Challenge: PATH

This week’s photo challenge:

“[S]how us what path means to you. Consider the journey you’ve taken this year (or where you hope to go in 2017) and share a snapshot of this personal path, whether figurative or literal.”

*

I took this photo of my daughter at Shenandoah National Park well over a year ago – but when I stumbled on it a few days ago, it struck me that it was a pretty much perfect visual for how I feel right now: for this point in this particular year of my life…for this moment in time. For where I’m at on my path:

img_9317

I’m conscious of the fact that I’m not where I want to be yet in life (like in the image: there’s a place, way out on the horizon, that I aspire to reach.) But I like where I’m at right now (there’s a really appealing glow to the light…and there are wildflowers!) And I’m conscious of that as well – and it feels good!

I feel – and this is not a feeling I always have at the brink of the new year – that I’m where I should be at this moment in time. I feel like I’m on a good path, a right path, for myself – one that will take me to interesting places…places I’m curious about…places I want to explore. Places that will help me to grow – in areas like career and parenting, and also personally.

Curiosity is a good way to feel at the edge of a brand new year!

Of course, saying that I instinctively feel that I’m on the right path for myself doesn’t mean I know what exactly the path will bring. (I can’t see into the forest from where I’m standing. It could hold anything. Beautiful vistas…rocky cliffs to scale…and everything in between!) But there’s something about the not-knowing, about the sense of possibility, that is a little bit thrilling. A little scary…but a lot interesting.

I don’t know that anything moves me as much as “interesting.”

One thing I don’t feel right now is antsy. I’m enjoying – even more than I usually do – the feeling of introspection that is so pervasive at this time of year. And that feels good; I like the feeling of embracing the moment. It makes me feel rooted – in a good way. Not stagnant or caged (it’s impossible to feel held down like that with so much on the horizon!), but anticipatory.

And I really like anticipation. I’m savoring the feeling this year – kind of as if what I’m doing right now is taking (like my daughter in the image) a considering pause at the top of a just-climbed-hill, looking out over the peaks and valleys of a soon-to-be-encountered forest. It’s a good place to linger – not forever, but for a little while.

In another week or two, it’ll be all about moving forward…about seeing what’s out there. This year is about testing myself. Learning. Growing. Advancing. Satisfying my curiosity. Exploring. Adventuring!

I really like adventuring. 🙂

 

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: PATH

Leave a Reply

