On the Rest of My Recent Musical Finds

I mentioned that I’ve been stumbling into some really interesting music lately (after like a year-and-a-half of what felt like I was wandering in a musical wasteland – uninspired and bored and unable to connect with pretty much everything I came across.)

Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats really jolted me out of that! (As noted here.) And I’ve since run across other things that have grabbed me (like some creative and surprisingly good cover songs – as noted here.)

So, just to round things out, I wanted to note that I’ve also been exploring deeper into the likes of composers/songwriters like Tony Anderson – and I’m really enjoying it. That kind of flowing, lush, ambient sound is really appealing to me right now.

Here’s one gorgeous piece from him:

And then the band (or maybe just single person? I’m not sure…) who produced that cover I mentioned earlier – Sleeping at Last – also has some really beautiful music. Some are just musical compositions, some include lyrics – but they’re all lovely. Like this one:

But I think the most powerful stuff that I’ve found comes from composer Max Richter. I saw the movie Perfect Sense for the first time recently – and I can’t get it out of my head. (I probably will make a post about that soon.) At least part of why it’s affected me so much is, I think, due to the music.

Like this piece – which is one of the more moving and affecting pieces of music I think I’ve ever heard:

*

I’m so happy to have found all of this new (to me, anyway!) music. Not having music that I feel connected to is uncomfortable for me. Music settles me, balances me out, in a way that nothing else does – it always has. When I don’t have that tool, everything seems just a little bit…harder. Bleaker. More isolating.

It’s strange to me that I went for such a long period without feeling that kind of connection to any music – and now, suddenly, it’s like a door’s been blown open or something. It feels wonderful!

And it feels notable, too. As if suddenly finding all of this stuff is indicative of turning a corner or something.

I definitely do see that my whole “musical-wasteland” period was simultaneously a big transitional period for me, life-wise. I feel like I’m in a new and different place in many ways (literally as well as figuratively) as compared with, say a year-and-a-half to two years ago.

And it feels like this – this music I’m listening to now – is perhaps the music of that new place. And that maybe that’s why I couldn’t find it before: It’s because I had to get here to find it?

Leave a Reply

