Weekly Photo Challenge: EARTH

This week’s photo challenge:

“[S]hare an image that means “earth” to you — whether it’s a panorama of a landscape that takes your breath away, a close-up revealing a detail in nature, or another scene that honors the outdoors…”

*

I’m not sure how it is that I never noticed this before – but baby pinecones on a branch look like flowers. And they’re pretty!

IMG_3720

I’m certain that the reason I did notice them at last this day had everything to do with the fact that I had my camera in my hand. Taking pictures helps me immeasurably in noticing the little, subtle beauties around me. When I’m in “photography head”, I automatically interact with my environment with a level of mindful awareness that I have difficulty (still, though I consciously work on this now) reaching on my own.

That’s just one more reason I’m grateful to have found photography! It literally changes the way I see the world around me.

And Earth Day week is a good time to give that a little bit of thought – because there’s so very much beauty to be seen and experienced on our planet! What a shame to overlook it!

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: EARTH

  1. I’m the same way. I see all sorts of things when I have my camera or phone. Since I carry my phone with me pretty much all the time, especially for the camera, I see the world differently all the time. I’ve noticed the same beauty you captured so well here.

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

